top of page

Landlords get support ahead of new licence scheme


Landlords are being offered assistance from the government to enroll in the new licensing scheme.


Starting May 1, 2024, the Rented Dwelling Licensing Scheme will legally require landlords in Jersey to hold a licence for each property they rent out. According to the Government, the scheme aims to "improve the standards of rental accommodation" on the island.


From August 1, 2024, it will be illegal for landlords to rent properties without a licence, and inspections may be required before a licence is issued. Government officers will be available at various parish halls between June and July to provide support and answer questions. The schedule is as follows:


  • St Peter Parish Hall - Monday, June 10, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Lawrence Parish Hall - Tuesday, June 11, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Helier Town Hall - Wednesday, June 12, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Clement Parish Hall - Friday, June 14, 14:00-16:00 BST

  • St Saviour Parish Hall - Monday, June 17, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Martin Public Hall - Wednesday, June 19, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • Trinity Parish Hall - Monday, June 24, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • Grouville Parish Hall - Monday, June 24, 14:00-16:00 BST

  • St John Parish Hall - Monday, July 1, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Mary Parish Hall - Wednesday, July 3, 10:00-12:00 BST

  • St Ouen Parish Hall - Thursday, July 4, 14:00-16:00 BST


A licence costs £60 per property and is valid for two years. The licence is attached to the property and will transfer to the new owner if the property is sold.

Comments


bottom of page